Tough day at the Justice Committee for Lord Chancellor

by Steve Wedd

Dear Mr Davies,

 

Your Committee’s examination of the Justice Secretary yesterday (15 July 2015) was incisive and penetrating – well done one and all.

 

I watched rapt as Member after Member fiercely challenged the Lord Chancellors personal devotion to managing the system in charge of which he finds himself now for a short time.  Nothing was left unexamined as the Committee probed the man.

 

The Justice Committee was a model of Parliament holding to account the Executive.  I am completely satisfied that Members probing and wide-ranging questions on Courts, Prisons, Probation, murderers, and troublesome lawyers were answered in full.

 

Any concerns that I previously held about the Criminal Justice System were certainly allayed by your Chairman’s and Members attention to detail.

 

Noteworthy were the many declarations of interest from current or non-practising lawyer members of the Committee.  I can see that with scrutiny such as was broadcast yesterday, Justice is safe in the hands of the Government.

 

I wish that I were a constituent of yours so that I could come to your next surgery to offer my personal commendation in addition to this poor note.  Do please keep up the good work on behalf of your electorate.

 

Yours

 

Steve Wedd

Brighton

(MP Simon Kirby)

