A Thoroughly Biased View

by Steve Wedd

A view from the North

This is the piece I wrote for the CBA blog concerning the ballot on direct action.

It is important that you understand that I am terribly biased. I am in favour of taking direct action. I was in favour of direct action before “no returns” and I advocated rejecting the deal. I believe that the previous Government and this Government have done significant damage to this country by undermining the justice system. The principal tool has been money – increasing court costs, introducing court costs, restricting access to Legal Aid and cutting Legal Aid. I believe that lawyers could and should make a stand when politicians wreak such damage. Not just fine words and strongly worded letters to the Times but using everything we have at our disposal to make the Government think again.

As I am going to seek to persuade you to vote “Yes” in the CBA ballot…

View original post 1,778 more words

